Yates Cider Mill was established in 1863! For 159 years, it’s been a part of Rochester. Walk the loop, check out the parks, and farm animals, and enjoy Yate’s delicious cider and donuts! Two very unique things about Yates: they are powered by water and use a UV light process to treat their cider instead of pasteurization.
The History of Yates Cider Mill
Caroline S. Yates, the wife of William Henry Yates, bought 80 acres of land along the Clinton River in 1863 when Rochester was still Avon Township.
This establishment opened as a sawmill and gristmill for settlers and farmers. By 1876, Yates added apple cider pressing to its list of services. By the early 1900s, the focus was solely on using the mill for cider as demand grew.
The original mill was rebuilt and replaced by the present structure in 1894, and a 26-inch water turbine was installed to power the mill. William and Caroline’s son, Frank William Yates, later carried on the operation of the mill. He then passed it on to his son, Harry Yates. Harry introduced donuts to customers at the mill.
HUGE THANKS to BIG JIM for stopping by Yates Cider Mill for this recent check-in:
City of the Week visited Yate’s a couple of years back. Here’s how that adventure went:
Find out more about Yates Cider Mill when you CLICK HERE