Light Up The Sky, Stay Legal: Michigan Firework Laws
Fireworks are a lot of fun, but — as we all know — they come with some risks. That’s why there are laws that try to keep everyone safe. If you’re gearing up to celebrate this summer with a fireworks extravaganza in Michigan, it’s always a good idea to be aware of the laws in place.
Michigan’s Fireworks Safety Act of 2011 (Public Act 256) underwent some changes in December 2018. As a result, villages, townships, and cities now have the authority to regulate when and where you can unleash the magic of consumer fireworks through local ordinances.
When can you light fireworks in Michigan?
According to the rules, you can enjoy the dazzling display after 11 a.m. on December 31, all the way until 1:00 a.m. on January 1. You can also light up the sky on the Saturday and Sunday before Memorial Day, keeping the festive spirit alive until 11:45 p.m. From June 29 to July 4, we can enjoy fireworks until 11:45 p.m., and even on July 5, if it happens to fall on a Friday or Saturday. And finally, we get one last summer hurrah with fireworks on the Saturday and Sunday before Labor Day until 11:45 p.m.
When it comes to fireworks in Michigan, there are some important regulations to keep in mind. Any consumer fireworks you purchase must meet the safety standards set by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC). Licensed facilities are the go-to spots for purchasing fireworks, but remember that they can only sell them to individuals 18 years old or older.
State law in Michigan has some clear guidelines regarding where and when you can ignite consumer-grade fireworks. To play it safe and legal, you’re only allowed to light them up on your personal property. That means that you can’t light off fireworks on public property like streets, sidewalks, school grounds, or church property without permission. Here’s an important reminder, it’s illegal to discharge fireworks while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs.
There are also serious consequences of fire-related incidents involving fireworks. People involved in low impact, or illegal fireworks causing property damage, injuries, or even the tragic loss of life could face misdemeanor or felony charges. The punishment could include imprisonment for a maximum of five years, hefty fines reaching up to $10,000, or both.
Find more do’s and don’t for firework safety here.